Ftarri / Ftarri

The International Nothing

The Dark Side of Success

Out on June 1, 2014
Purchase price in Japan: 2,000 yen (tax not included)
(For purchase outside of Japan, prices vary.)

  1. Empty Your Pockets (3:55)
  2. Beat 'Em All (13:08)
  3. Deepwater Horizon (6:23)
  4. Lebensverlängernde Maßnahmen (11:20)
  5. Pop Music (3:20)
  6. Lost and Found and Lost Again (8:31)

    mp3 excerpt: track 1
    mp3 excerpt: track 4
    mp3 excerpt: track 6

All compositions by Kai Fagaschinski and Michael Thieke, 2010-2013

The International Nothing
Kai Fagaschinski: clarinet (right)
Michael Thieke: clarinet (left)

Recorded by Michael at ausland, Berlin, September 19-22, 2013
Mixed by Michael Thieke and Kai Fagaschinski, November 2013-January 2014
Mastered by Werner Dafeldecker in Berlin, February 2014
Cover designed by tanabemse
Packaged in a cardboard jacket

The International Nothing is the duo project of Berlin-based clarinetists Kai Fagaschinski and Michael Thieke. Both musicians mainly perform as improvisers, but in The International Nothing they play their own compositions, focusing throughout on the resonance of the clarinet's uniquely soft and warm timbres. The interweaving of the two clarinets creates delicate sonic inter-reverberation and fluctuation, resulting in music of exquisite beauty and tension. Following Mainstream (2006) and Less Action, Less Excitement, Less Everything (2010), this is The International Nothing's brilliant third album. The six tracks were recorded in Berlin in September 2013. The CD is packaged in a heavy cardboard gatefold sleeve.

Last updated: June 24, 2014

Ftarri home page