Ftarri / Ftarri

The International Nothing

Less Action, Less Excitement, Less Everything

Out on May 31, 2010
Purchase price in Japan: 2,000 yen (tax not included)
(For purchase outside of Japan, prices vary.)

  1. Niedere Arbeiten (8:06)
  2. Crystal Clear Fog (12:02)
  3. Dichtung und Wahrheit (1:05)
  4. Amongst Dissidents (5:33)
  5. Sleep! (9:43)

    mp3 excerpt: track 1
    mp3 excerpt: track 4
    mp3 excerpt: track 5

All compositions by Kai Fagaschinski and Michael Thieke, 2006-2009

The International Nothing
Kai Fagaschinski: clarinet (right)
Michael Thieke: clarinet (left)

Recorded by Michael at ausland, Berlin, March 23 and 24, 2009
Mixed by Michael Thieke and Kai Fagaschinski in September 2009
Mastered by Martin Siewert at Motone Sound Services, Vienna
Cover designed by tanabemse
Packaged in a cardboard jacket

The International Nothing is the duo project of Berlin-based clarinetists Kai Fagaschinski and Michael Thieke. While both musicians are improvisers, in The International Nothing they play their own compositions and focus on bringing out the clarinet's soft, warm tones to the fullest. In their spacious yet tension-filled playing, the interweaving of the two clarinets creates a delicate inter-reverberation and fluctuation. The result is a breathtakingly beautiful sound.

In their 2006 debut album, Mainstream (also on Ftarri), the duo played with guest musicians on several tracks. On Less Action, Less Excitement, Less Everything, all 5 tracks are by The International Nothing alone. All compositions by Kai Fagaschinski and Michael Thieke, 2006-2009. Recorded in March 2009.

Last updated: June 25, 2014

Ftarri home page