Ftarri / Meenna

Otomo Yoshihide

Core Anode

Out July 20, 2008
Purchase price in Japan: 2,000 yen (tax not included)
(For purchase outside of Japan, prices vary.)

  1. 19th September 2002, Kid Ailack Art Hall, Tokyo (20:41)
  2. 14th July 2006, Stubnitz, Copenhagen (27:00)
  3. 15th December 2006, ICA Theatre, London (22:22)

    mp3 excerpt 1: track 1
    mp3 excerpt 2: track 2
    mp3 excerpt 3: track 3
  1. Uemura Masahiro: drums
    Ito Atsuhiro: optron
    Itoken: drums
    Otomo Yoshihide: guitar

    Live recording: Otomo Yoshihide at Kid Ailack Art Hall, Tokyo, September 19, 2002

  2. Nis Bysted: guitar
    Yoshigaki Yasuhiro: drums
    Mads Heldtberg: guitar
    Saito "Shacho" Ryoichi: guitar
    Andreas Hauer-Jensen: drums
    Toke Tietze Mortensen: drums
    Otomo Yoshihide: guitar

    Live sound mix and recording: Blo @ Stubnitz, Copenhagen, July 14, 2006

  3. Andrea Neumann: inside piano, mixing desk
    Uemura Masahiro: drums
    Sachiko M: sinewaves
    Rhodri Davies: harp
    Ichiraku Yoshimitsu: drums
    Stefano Tedesco: vibraphone
    Tim Barnes: timpani, tam-tam, cymbal
    Sarah Washington: electronics
    Ishikawa Ko: sho, electronics
    Matt Davis: trumpet
    Angharad Davies: violin
    Tom Chant: tenor sax
    Mark Sanders: drums
    Otomo Yoshihide: turntable, guitar amp

    Live recording: Rick Campion and Sebastian Lexer at LMC Festival, ICA Theatre, London, December 15, 2006
    Sound technician/engineer: Mark Hornsby
    Mix: Otomo Yoshihide at GRID605, Tokyo, December 2007 and January 2008

Mastering: Kondo Yoshiaki at GOK SOUND, Tokyo, 23rd January 2008
Photos by Tsuchiya Jun
Design: Sasaki Akira

Core Anode is the roaring-sound project of the versatile and multifaceted Otomo Yoshihide, who works in genres ranging from free improvisation to jazz to rock to movie and TV music. The CD contains 3 pieces recorded live at concerts in Tokyo (2002), Copenhagen (2006), and London (2006). The players/numbers of players differed at each performance. In all cases the musicians were outside the audience area, surrounding the listeners, and in all cases they put out nothing but roaring sound.

In Tokyo the players were Otomo Yoshihide (guitar), Atsuhiro Ito (optron), Masahiro Uemura (drums), and Itoken (drums); in Copenhagen, Otomo (guitar), Ryoichi Saito (guitar), Mads Heldtberg (guitar), Nis Bysted (guitar), Yasuhiro Yoshigaki (drums), Andreas Hauer-Jensen (drums), and Toke Tietze Mortensen (drums); and in London, Otomo (turntable, guitar amp), Andrea Neumann (inside piano, mixing desk), Uemura (drums), Sachiko M (sinewaves), Rhodri Davies (harp), Yoshimitsu Ichiraku (drums), Stefano Tedesco (vibraphone), Tim Barnes (timpani, tam-tam, cymbal), Sarah Washington (electronics), Ko Ishikawa (sho, electronics), Matt Davis (trumpet), Angharad Davies (violin), Tom Chant (tenor sax), and Mark Sanders (drums).

Last updated: July 4, 2008

Ftarri home page