Ftarri / Meenna

Active Recovering Music

Active Recovering Music

Limited edition of 500
Out on July 14, 2013
Purchase price in Japan: 1,500 yen (tax not included)
(For purchase outside of Japan, prices vary.)

  1. #1 (16:50)
  2. #7 (17:49)
  3. #10 (blues) (15:53)

    mp3 excerpt: track 1
    mp3 excerpt: track 2
    mp3 excerpt: track 3

Active Recovering Music
Masahiko Okura: slide whistle, percussion (1)
Masahide Tokunaga: slide whistle, percussion (1)
Toshihiro Koike: slide whistle, percussion (1)
Taku Unami: slide whistle, percussion (1)
Takahiro Kawaguchi: slide whistle, percussion (1)
Shibatetsu: slide whistle, percussion (1)
Satoshi Kanda: slide whistle, percussion (1)
Masae Okura: slide whistle, percussion (1)

Recorded live by Taku Unami at Ftarri on February 9, 2013
Mastered by Taku Unami
Produced by Masahiko Okura
Design by Yuhei Saito

Active Recovering Music (ARM) is a slide whistle ensemble led by sax player Masahiko Okura. All of the members play the slide whistle. Okura debuted ARM in concert with a five-member formation in 2008. He's since continued the group's activity (though their live performances are infrequent) with changing numbers of players. This is the recording of a performance by ARM--this time with eight members--which took place at Ftarri, Tokyo, in February 2013. Each of the three pieces was composed by Okura, and each is about 15 minutes long. The players' supple long tones pile up and overlap repeatedly, and the increasingly thick sound clusters and subtle sonic tremors give the music a deep flavor. The members are Masahiko Okura, Masahide Tokunaga, Toshihiro Koike, Taku Unami, Takahiro Kawaguchi, Shibatetsu, Satoshi Kanda, and Masae Okura. On the first track, the members all use percussion instruments and percussion sounds can be heard from time to time.

Last updated: July 13, 2013

Ftarri home page