Ftarri / Ftarri Festival 2019

The International Nothing

Photo © Seamus Cater

The International Nothing
Kai Fagaschinski: clarinet
Michael Thieke: clarinet

The International Nothing is a Berlin-based psycho-acoustic clarinet duo formed by Michael Thieke and Kai Fagaschinski in 2000. They collectively compose multilayered sound sculptures using multiphonics, beat frequencies and difference tones as an integral part of their language. Both musicians are well known as improvisers but in this project they develop and perform exclusively their own compositions. Every four years the duo releases an album on the Japanese Ftarri label. In 2018 they are presenting their fourth duo album In Doubt We Trust. While each of the previous releases consisted of several shorter pieces, the duo is now going epic for the first time. The new album is made of a single work of 37 plus minutes. Two and a half years of deep sonic research in seclusion not only yielded a formal change, but also revealed new and yet unheard acoustic scenarios in slow pace and of fragile beauty. The duo played concerts all over Europe, North and South America and East Asia, including Donaueschinger Musiktage (2007), Konfrontationen (Nickelsdorf 2008 & 2019), Experimental Intermedia (New York 2009), Maerzmusik (Berlin 2009), Serrales em Festo (Porto 2010), Internationale Ferienkurse fr Neue Musik (Darmstadt 2012), Mto Festival (Mulhouse 2012), Festival International de Musique Actuelle De Victoriaville (2015), Music Unlimited (Wels 2015), Ftarri Festival (Tokyo 2015 & 2019), Borderline Festival (Athens 2017) and Novas Frequencias (Rio de Janeiro 2018).

- Mainstream (Ftarri 2006)
- Less Action, Less Excitement, Less Everything (Ftarri 2010)
- The Dark Side of Success (Ftarri 2014)
- The Power of Negative Thinking (Monotype 2016) as The International Nothing ( and something)
- In Doubt We Trust (Ftarri 2018)

The International Nothing on the Ftarri, Hitorri, Meenna, and Improvised Music from Japan labels

Last updated: October 5, 2019


Ftarri home